The town of Primorsko, Bulgaria is a large Black sea resort and has superb qualities for sea holiday combined with a lot of fun. Its location near the Ropotamo Reserve provides plenty of opportunities for nature walks and historical monuments. The tourists like this town also and because of the folklore festivals that take place here. The place offers a variety of attractions that make it suitable for both a relaxing family holiday and a stay with active nightlife with lots of parties and fun.
Primorsko – location, beaches and landmarks
The town is 50 km south of Bourgas, 18 km south of Sozopol and 15 km north of Tsarevo. There are regular buses to the neighboring resorts as well as a bus to the capital of Bulgaria – Sofia. Primorsko offers a wide selection of accommodation – hotels, guest houses, small family hotels, lodgings, villas and bungalows – the accommodation base is over 500 000 places. To satisfy every taste, there are many restaurants, fast food restaurants, taverns, bistros, pizzerias, bars and discos. For the entertainment of tourists, there are many attractions, including a boat trip along the river Ropotamo, aquapark, water skiing, surfing, jets, yachts and even flights with small sports jets from the airport in Primorsko and others.
The beaches of Primorsko
They are one of the longest on the Bulgarian Black Sea, with a total length of 5 km and width of 100 m. The beaches are two – “North” at the Stamopolu bay and “South” at the Diavolski Bay.
The length of the north beach is 2.5 km, and its clear waters and clean, golden sands attract thousands of tourists every summer. Behind it there are the sand dunes of Stamopolu bay declared as a natural landmark. Their height reaches 3-4 m, and there could be seen rare sandy plants. Behind the beach is the “Stamopolu marsh”, which has given the name of the bay. From the Greek word ” στόμα” (stoma) means mouth. This is related to the underwater spring, which is at the bottom of the marsh and connects it to the sea. Like mouth, it sucks seawater and pours it into the swamp, and in this way constantly refreshing it. On the northern part of the beach is the building of the deserted Perla (Pearl in english) residence. At this point it is unusable. The section of the beach enclosed by the two breakwaters. It is called “Little Pearl”. Behind the beach there are meadows and forest and the idea of camping on them seems attractive to some tourists. Unfortunately, this is not allowed, and the intruders could be fined.
From the south side of Primorsko is the South beach. It is popular also with the name “Diavolski” beach (“The Devil’s beach” in translation). It is 2.4 km long and reaching the “International Youth Center Primorsko” . Its amenities are no less attractive than the North beach and it is also a very popular place for beaching.
Preferable bungalows, as a place to accommodate, can rent them around the “International Youth Center Primorsko” (ММЦ in bulgarian), that is located in the southern part of the beach.
The name “Diavolski” beach (in translation “Devil’s beach”) should not be interpreted as a bad sign. It is associated with the Devil’s marsh, which is nearby. Because of its area – only 1 acres is water, and the rest is a marsh and reeds, only the Devil could orient here, as the local people have loved to say in the past.
Because of the swamp, so is called the river, whose mouth is here. It crosses the specially designed small pedestrian bridge. Exactly this “Diavolska” river (“The Devil’s river”) has a key role in the old name of Primorsko. In the past, a couple of centuries ago the bridge was wooden, part of the important coastal road connecting big towns Pomorie and Sozopol with Constantinople (Istanbul in the present). Since its foundation in 1879, until 1934, Primorsko was called Kyupria, which in translation from Turkish köprü (kyupru) means a bridge.
The port of Primorsko
On the northern side of the South beach is the yacht harbor, fishing boats and the lighthouse. From here, yachts go for a trip to Cape “Maslen nos”. During this trip you can see “The seal’s cave”, fjord bays, and visit the wild bay “St. Paraskeva”. At the request of passengers, they could go down the beach at Cape “Maslen nos” and take rest . Later, they can be returned with some of the next boating courses.
Historical Museum in Primorsko
The historical museum will present its visitors the finds discovered on the territory of Primorsko Municipality. Of particular interest are the objects found at the ancient thracian cliffs – sanctuary Beglik Tash, which is one of the most popular historical sites in the whole Bulgaria and attracts tens of thousands of tourists from all over the world. The ceramic vessels prove connection with the peoples of Crete and Egypt in the III century BC. Also in the museum could be watched a short holographic film with Thracian priest – a recreation of the ritual at the sanctuary in antiquity. You can also see finds from the “Lion’s Head” (rock formation in Ropotamo reserve) ; Cape “Maslen nos”, the mouth of Ropotamo River, “Lobodovo Kale” fortress, the Urdoviza fortress and others.
The area where Primorsko is located as a settlement was discovered quite late in 1879. Then is founded the village of Kyupria. The whole peninsula (where is Primorsko now) was completely deserted, covered with a thick oak forest stretching over a largearea. After the settlement, only the forest around the Devil ‘s marsh called Koria was preserved. In 1934, Kyupria was renamed to Primorsko and in 1981 became a town.
The ancient people have chosen other places in the vicinity for the creation of their habitations. Some of them are the mouth of Ropotamo, the ancient city at Ranuli fortress ( called also “The Lion’s Head”), the port at Cape “Maslen Nos”, the fortress “Lobodovo kale”. The earliest finds (3rd millennium BC) are found at the mouth of Ropotamo from a prehistoric village that has sunk.
During the different epochs, thracians, greeks, romans, byzantines and bulgarians lived in the region. The ruins of their buildings, shrouded in mysteries are located into the forests of Ropotamo Reserve and its surroundings.
Their visit inevitably gives the traveler feelings of delight in the skill of the ancient builders, and admiration for the natural beauties of the forest.
Walking is only on the marked and allowed hiking trails according to the rules of the reserve. Most of the routes are short, easy and suitable for any age group, for more information look at the attached map and detailed descriptions. To eneter to the reserve you have to go to the northern side of Primorsko, passing by the “North beach” and the deserted “Perla” residence and continues along the asphalt road to Beglik Tash.