Situated on the Bulgarian Black Sea Coast and the mouth of the Veleka River, Sinemorets resort has unique amenities for recreation at sea combined with hiking trails. The beaches of Sinemorets are among the
most beautiful along the Black Sea coast. Two of them are completely wild and suitable for those seeking tranquility and privacy in nature. The 8 km stretch from the mouth of the Veleka River to “Tsarsko kladenche” is sailing, which provides opportunities for a motorboat and kayak trip, to observe the rare yellow water lily.
Sinemorets is located on the territory of Strandzha Nature Park (the biggest nature park in Bulgaria) and next to it are located two protected areas with unique natural resources.
SInemorets – location, beaches and landmarks
Sinemorets is 4 km south of Ahtopol and 83 km south of Bourgas. It is only 12 km away from the Rezovo village, where is the Bulgarian-Turkish border. Although Sinemorets is a village, there is a wide choice of accommodation – hotels, guest houses, family hotels, apartments for rent, lodgings and bungalows. Accommodation is over 5,000 places. There are also numerous dining venues – restaurants, fast food restaurants, bistros, pizzerias and other.
The beaches of Sinemorets
1.North beach at the mouth of the Veleka River
It is the largest beach in Sinemorets 700 m long and its width reaches 90 m. It is located in the northern part of the village. The charm of the beach is in the unique combination of the Veleka River and its green banks, the sandy strip and the elongated rocks in the sea. At the start of the beach there are umbrellas, sun loungers, a beach bar and a lifeguard.
In the southern part of the beach, next to the beach bar is located a famous rock formation “The Sphinx”, which is an attractive place for pictures. To see it from a suitable angle, you have to stand perpendicular to the rock and look across the beach.
Some people believe that “The Sphinx” is carved by human hands and is a testimony of links between the ancient Thracian and Egyptian cultures. They believe that the object is related to the mystical cave – the tomb of the Egyptian goddess Bastet near the town of Malko Tarnovo.
And where the Veleka River flows into the Black Sea is the most beautiful place for swimming with a mask and snorkel. In a calm sea, the visibility in the waters reaches 10 m, which we personally have not seen anywhere else at the beaches of the Black Sea and is comparable to diving in the Mediterranean Sea!
It is located in the southern part of Sinemorets . Its length is 400 m and the width is 110 m. There is a lifeguard and also umbrellas and sunbeds, as well as two beach restaurants. As an entertainment there are water attractions – jets, bananas and others. More crowded and noisy is than the North Beach. Here is a small river called Butamyata, where the name of the beach came from.
Initially, the river was called a “potamo”, which in Greek means river. It gradually changed to the Bulgarian “Potamia”, and later became “Butamayata”.
When diving with a mask and snorkel on this beach we also noted very clear waters.
The thick forests around the beach is a part of the protected area “Silistar”, which extends in south direction to a beach with the same name – “Silistar”
Wild beaches “Lipite” and “Listi”
From the “Butamyata” beach if you go in south direction along hiking trail you will reach two beaches that are totally wild: “Lipite” and “Listi”.
On the way to them, you can see interesting rock formations and also a seal’s cave. The time for reaching “Lipite” beach is round 20 minutes, and for “Listi” Beach – around 1 hour.
Fishing port and rock formations “The Ships”
They are located in the small bay “St. Yani “. In the past, it is also called “Chekeka” (in Turkish – “pulled”, as are also the fishing boats – “pulled” on the shore on the wooden grills).
In the southern part of the bay there are two rised above rocks, popular under the name “The Ships”, so called for their shape. They are often visited by proffesional and amateur photographers.
Historical notes about Sinemorets
The ceramic fragments discovered in underwater studies at the Butamita Bay give grounds for believing that there was a settlement here in the 5th – 4th centuries BC. Among the finds there are anchors as well as portions of the lead coating of an ancient ship.
In the northwest of Sinemorets, above the North beach, there is a meadow. Archaeologists made excavations there in 2006. They found thracian tombstone and ruler’s house.
The Thracian mound and the golden treasure
The mound is dated to the 3rd century B. It is supposed that there was buried a rich thracian aristocrat – probably a priestess. A great gold treasure was discovered – more than 160 gold objects and jewels. Some of the objects are scorched at the edges, which gives reason to believe that the Thracian priestess was cremated. Because of its magnificent craftsmanship, the gold treasure is assumed to be one of the models of ancient jewelry on bulgarian lands. It is stored in the National Museum of Sofia, Bulgaria. A picture can be seen from here.
There is a copy of the treasure stored in the museum in the town of Tsarevo. If you want to diversify your holiday you can go to Tsarevo, 20 km away. In this museum you can see also other finds from the surrounding area.
The Ruler’s house and the silver treasure
A fragment of Greek amphorae and coins of the Thracian king Kotis I (383-360 BC), were found around the Ruler’s house. In 2012, a large silver treasure consisting of 199 coins with a nominal of 4 drams – also called tetradrachms – was discovered here. They are made in the Black Sea polis of Messambria (Nessebar) and Odessos (Varna), Aegean Polis Kizik (in Turkey), the Byzantine kingdom (founded by Thracians in Asia Minor where today is Istanbul) and the kingdom of Thracian Ruler Mostis (130- 90 BC). These coins indicate active trading with these towns and shipping in Black Sea.
Based on the discovered ceramic vessels of late antiquity and Middle Ages, the settlement continued its existence in the following centuries. It was named with the Greek “Gallazio” ( Γαλαζιο ), which translates to sky blue.
Since 1498, the oldest written source for the village – a document for trading in salt. The village was mentioned as Kalandza . Translating from Turkish means Flower Sempervivum,that naturally grows here. We saw them, carefully put in a pot by somebody, perhaps a reference to the old name. That was along the path to the wild beach”Lipite”. During this period 19 families lived in the village.
Later, in the seventeenth century Kalandza was present in the tax register of Anhialo County (Pomorie). This county also includes the surrounding Agatopol (Ahtopol), to which Kalandza is directly subordinated.
In the eighteenth century, according to the notes of an Austrian officer, the village numbered 17 houses. It is believed that the settlement has not expanded significantly for such a long period because of the frequent deportation of its inhabitants to the Strandzha Mountain. Perhaps some of them settled there. The reason for this migration was the frequent attacks of the Caucasian pirates.
The main activity for Kalandza in this period was the harvesting of timber and charcoal that were demanded in Istanbul.
A new story
Until before the Balkan War (1912 – 1913), the settlement was inhabited mainly by Greeks. In support of this thesis it is pointed out that in the recent past there were many so-called Greek houses. Characteristic of these buildings is that they are two-storeyed, spacious and without windows on the second floor. The same were also the houses in the near villages Kosti and Brodilovo. They are also believed to had been Greek. Unfortunately, during our visits to them we found only one house, that answer this description. It was in a very bad condition. It was in the village of Kosti.
Like all the Greek settlements on the Black Sea coast (Anhialo, Sozopol, Vasiliko, Ahtopol), the Greeks emigrated in 1914 and refugees from Eastern Thrace settled here. Since then the activities of the village have been harvesting of timber, charcoal and agriculture.
By 1934, it was still called Kalandja, and then for a short time was renamed as Debelets. Since 1934 until now the name has been Sinemorets. In translation that is mean “Sea Blue” – originates from the beautiful panoramic views from the high shores.
During socialism in Bulgaria (1944-1989), the access to the village was limited and tourism impossible. The reason for that was the border line which was crossing SInemorets.
After the political changes in the early 1990s and the opening of the border areas, the interest in Sinemorets is growing more and more. The place is great for all who like natural beauties and want to escape from the hustle and bustle of urban life and big resorts.
A good way to diversify your stay in Sinemorets is to take a boat trip and observe the beautiful and rare plant yellow water lily.